Also known as Kutang, Manaslu is the eight highest mountain in the world. It is located in the MansiriHimal, the west-central part of Nepal. Its name is derived from the Sanskrit word Manasa, which means the 'Mountain of the Spirit'. It is the highest peak in the Lamjung district and is situated only forty miles east of Annapurna. The Manaslu region encompasses the sub-tropical foothills of the Himalaya as well as the arid Trans-Himalayan high pastures bordering Tibet. In between 1950 to 1955, four Japanese expeditions explored the possibility of climbing Manaslu from the north and east faces. It was first successfully ascended in 1956 by T. Imanishi and GyalzenNorbu (Japanese expedition) and  was not climbed again until 1971 when a Japanese team made the second ascent.  It was not until 1997 that Charlie Mace made the first American ascent.  There are a half dozen established routes for this mountain today, the south face being arguably the toughest.  It is said that just as the British consider Everest their mountain, the Japanese consider Manaslu their mountain; hence, it is often referred to as the “Japanese mountain".

Itinerary for Manaslu Expedition:

Day 01    Arrival in Kathmandu, transfer to hotel
Day 02    Kathmandu, free day, hotel
Day 03    Kathmandu - Official formalities, hotel
Day 04    Bus: Ktm- Arughat
Day 05    Trek to SotiKhola
Day 06    Trek to MachhaKhola
Day 07    Trek to Nero (YaruKhola/ Jagat)
Day 08    Trek to Philim
Day 09    Trek to Umbale
Day 10    Trek to Namru
Day 11    Trek to SamaGaon
Day 12    Trek to Manaslu Base Camp
Day 13    Manaslu Base Camp - pooja  ceremony - Preparation
Day 14-35     Climbing period of Manaslu
Day 35    Widraw Manaslu Base camp
Day 36    Base Camp to Samagon
Day 37    Trek to Larkey Pass
Day 38    Trek to Bimdakhati
Day 39    Trek to Tilje
Day 40    Trek to Tal
Day 41    Trek to Syanje
Day 42    Drive to Kathmandu, transfer to hotel
Day 43    Rest day in Kathmandu
Day 44    Final Departure