This massif is enclosed on the north and southwest by tributaries of the Bheri, and on the southeast by MyagdiKhola. Dhaulagiri means “Dazzling Mountain” in Nepali. It is the seventh highest mountain in the world and, with more than six different routes, it is the easiest to climb among the eight-thousanders.It was first climbed by a Swiss team in 1960 via the North East Ridge.The South and West faces of Dhaulagiri both feature massive drops, each rises over 4000 meters from its base, and each has been the site of epic climbs. The tangled topography of twisting ridges, glaciers, and ice falls is crested by a stretch of thirty miles. Several pyramid-shaped peaks rise along the main crest.

Itinerary for Dhaulagiri Mountain Expedition:

Day 1      Arrival in Kathmandu and transfer to hotel.
Day 2       Day 3     In Kathmandu for official procedure
Day 4     Drive: KTM/Baglung/Beni and trek to Raughat
Day 5     Trek to Tatopani (1189m)
Day 6     Trek to Ghasa
Day 7     Trek to Tukuche
Day 8     Trek to Yak Kharka
Day 9     Cross Thapa Pass
Day 10     Cross French Pass
Day 11     Trek to base camp and setup Base setup
Day 12      Day 46     Climbing period
Day 47     Trek to Dhampus Col
Day 48     Trek to Yak Kharka
Day 49     Trek to Tukuche/Marpha
Day 50     Trek to Jomsom
Day 51     Fly Jomsom/Pokhara/Kathmandu and transfer to hotel
Day 52     Rest day in Kathmandu
Day 53     Departure